It’s a small world afterall

I think everyone else has summarized the day well and I don’t want to be completely negative so I will leave you with some pictures. We celebrated Sandy’s birthday today (she thought nobody would know if she didn’t say something). Dr. Latifah had a large basket of local baked goods and we got dinner and a cake to celebrate tonight while watching Downton Abbey. On the way home we wanted a nice cold frappucino so we went to a Starbucks. We got up to the front and was told we had to go to the “family entrance” to be served. Well the family entrance was closed. And by that time everyone was crabby and on edge. On the way back to the car, there was a group of men standing outside. One guy outside saw how upset we were and asked us if he could help us get our coffee. Turns out he was an Irish guy with another guy from California and another from the area working with an IT business for a week. The guy from California grew up in the Roseville/Arden Hills area! What are the odds of meeting someone 7,000 miles away from the same city I grew up in? Not only did he go inside to get our drinks, drinks were on him! That was a such sweet gesture and I hope that made Sandy’s birthday a little bit more enjoyable.

One more shift tomorrow and then it’s our weekend!

Jen dancing with the oldest patient in the NICU.

 

He is so sweet. I like to visit him every morning.

Nurses

Heroes of the day

This entry was posted in Posted by Andrea. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s a small world afterall

  1. Kim Sorenson says:

    I have to say, it’s not a “Real” trip to Saudi, unless you get into some gender related difficulties at a Starbucks. Congratulations, folks, you’re officially acclimated!!! 😀

  2. Sarah Scofield says:

    I’m sure the little boy loves having you visit him every morning. After you leave he’ll probably miss you. After seeing the pictures and reading what I have read, I am so thankful and grateful for Children’s and all the technology that you have there. Even on the tough days remember that you are making a difference. 🙂 I’m praying for your team. Enjoy your weekend!

  3. Julie Ross says:

    Thanks for all the great posts! It seems like you are having the experience of a lifetime! Enjoy your weekend ladies…and of course lots of starbucks! From a fellow coffee lover 🙂

  4. Ashley B says:

    Happy Birthday Sandy! I’m glad there was a hero out there to help you all!! I hope you all enjoy your much needed weekend!!!

  5. Alana says:

    Do they have Decaf there???? I hope so..

  6. Heather Faucher says:

    Give Aboudi a big hug for me! I miss him!!!

Leave a Reply

